Board of Directors

We are pleased to introduce our Board of Directors - As of January 1, 2017

Chair, Edward (Ted) Carter, MD - Chief, Division of Pulmonary and Sleep Medicine, Banner Children's Specialists, Phoenix, AZ; Clinical Professor of Pediatrics, Department of Child Health, University of Arizona College of Medicine - Phoenix  

Secretary/Treasurer, Barbara Burkhkolder, MA - Public Health Consultant

Past Chair, Kimberly Byrne, RN, BSN, PNP, CPN, AE-C - Pediatric Asthma Program Manager, Banner Children's at Cardon Children's Medical Center

Lilia Parra-Roide, MD, FAAP - Associate Director, Pediatric Residency Program, Phoenix Children's Hospital/Maricopa Medical Center; Assistant Clinical Professor of Pediatrics and Interim Site Clerkship Director, University of Arizona College of Medicine, St. Joseph's Hospital

Jean A. Nelson, MS, FNP-C - Private Practice, Allergy, Asthma & Immunology Associates Ltd.

Karen M. Kiburz, RRT, BSe, AE-C, CPFT - Director of Clinical Applications, Thayer Medical Corporation

Lisa Rascon, MEd - Associate Director, Pediatric Pulmonary Center, The University of Arizona

Hanna Phan PharmD - Associate Professor of Pharmacy and Pediatrics, The University of Arizona

Judy Stefaniak, MSN, RN - School Nurse, Cactus View Elementary School, Paradise Valley School District

For more information about the Arizona Asthma Coalition and how you can become a member or a sponsor, contact Jeri Royce at 602-321-7044 or